Dr. Jane Philpott: a thankful volunteer

We all strive to do meaningful stuff in the short time we have alive. Stuff that makes us think “yeah, I’m glad I tried that out/got that done.”

As we face a million distractions a minute, it’s harder than ever to find that quiet focus, where we can reflect on where we should devote our waking hours. 

What a rich luxury, then, it’s been to find a worthy cause for my time over the last few months, while meeting rewarding people who motivate me to channel my energy in ever-more positive ways. What could this nifty thing possibly be? 😮 Dr. Jane Philpott’s groundbreaking Independent campaign.

Now, we see the frayed election results across Canada. They’ve been no less crushing for me than in Markham-Stouffville, the riding of former MP (and kickass Cabinet Minister), Jane Philpott.

I’m not a partisan person. I never wanted to help a campaign. How could I spend my time helping politicians, who tend to waste so much of theirs bickering with each other? Luckily, Jane shattered my cynicism on what’s possible in politics. How so?

Well, as we may notice in our daily lives, it’s hard to be the one to call out something problematic you see brewing.

Especially when the problem is within your group. How about when doing so means a big loss in salary, prestige, and national headlines? It takes guts to face that and go ahead anyway, as Jane did. Jane’s action to do this –all while defending our law— and the PM’s sharp reaction, opened my eyes. It also opened my schedule to busing to Stouffville to help her Independent campaign, starting in May.

I mean, when the stakes are so high, how often do you see high-up politicians put everything on the line, by choosing their conscience over convenience? I can’t think of others in recent history.

In the riding, I saw in-person Jane’s focus on what our leaders’ deliverables should be, rather than on ego & party leanings. This mindset was so refreshing that I almost felt lightheaded (sorta like when you breathe in TOO much air quickly and you feel dizzy). For it to come from someone whose work has helped my own family so much, made it all the more impressive.

Connecting with Stouffvillians in a way that showed my sole desire to hear what’s important to them, fulfilled me long past a single election result. Doing that with other dedicated and  smart souls makes me happy beyond measure that I chose to journey to the riding. It taught me: ”Hey Jack, get off your cynical derrière and see this: not every politician who shows a desire to connect has inevitable dark motives for doing so.”

What’s one of the best gifts you can have? Knowing how to identify the value found in whatever activities & experiences you get up to. For that, I can’t thank Jane, her staff or other volunteers enough for helping teach me this.

And this all comes from a guy who’d never met Jane a year ago, so it’s safe to say she had a big impact on many in her latest campaign 😎

“To fight for what is right, is to remember what the truest victories are.”

Leave a comment